newoldprofilesurveycastrings200biolinksbookaimnotesimagehost
Who turned out the lights!?
August 15, 2003 @ 3:40 p.m.


I'm happy now. Yup!

Soo...uhh yesterday was the big blackout! Power went off at 4pm or so, and as soon as it did, I called my mom to yell at her (because obviously it was her fault), and she said she couldn't talk now because the power just went out at IBM, too. So THEN I got all excited thinking we had a lil Poughkeepsie blackout thing going on.

I wanted to call Michaels cuz Krammy was working, but I figured if I did, Tony (manager) would get mad at her or something, so I refrained from doing so.

Mumpa came immediately home because there's really nothing that IBM can do when power shuts off, and then we turned on our 1.5" X 4" radio to find out that all of NY was out, plus out to Detroit and Toronto and down to MD and over to CT. I got all giddy and excited, but she was like "TERRORISTS!" That thing didn't even cross my mind because...it just didn't make any sense to me. I guess it did to some people, though. But why would you shut off power in the middle of the day, in broad daylight? Don't answer that.

My half Aunt and half Uncle were visiting from Oregon and we had all planned on going out to dinner, but that was kinda not gonna happen because ...no power...(although I would really enjoy eating at a restaurant by complete candlelight, being the only ones in there), so we went to the grocery store and picked up some ground beef and other stuff to grill!

Those guys are hilarious, though. My Uncle's a lawyer and my Aunt kinda works at home, and they're loaded, but don't really act like it! Haha at one point, my Uncle asked if I had a boyfriend, and when I said no, he said "Good, stay away from boyfriends, they're bad for your legs." I was crackin up..not expectin that at all.

I dunno, so we ate by candlelight and that was cool, but then they left...and we drove home at like 10pm. THAT was strange because everything except Marist, Home Depot, and Vassar Hospital was completely dark. When we drove by the Michaels Plaza, you couldnt even tell that there was anything over there. A couple of times my mom turned off her headlights while she was driving and it was just real creepy.

Later I went out with Krammy cuz it was real boring with no light or power (I was makin shadow puppets on the ceiling from a candle) and since both my mom and Tyke went to bed. We only went to Price Chopper (the only place open) and tried Walmart, but that had no power either. There were a shitload of police out, though!

I want to get a copy of the paper, if there even is one today, to keep it. Dammit, we made history!

Haha this whole thing made a mess. We got power back at 2am or around there, but I guess parts of NYC still don't have power, so that sucks.

Ummm I guess that's all I have to say..enjoy!

Thanks to the one person who was concerned about my last entry :P

HAVE A GOOD DAY!

<< || >>

.oO Dig Into The Past Oo.
WEEE - February 12, 2005
- - August 01, 2004
Goodbye - April 22, 2004
- - March 12, 2004
The spiderman flies five fighters - March 05, 2004

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com